11 Things You Missed On The Internet | 02.23.24

Is a new $55,000 Land Cruiser a bargain?

Hope everyone had a great week!

I’m heading up to Big Bear to get some skiing in. Can winter Fridays be a thing? They should be. Why save all the out-of-office Friday fun just for the summers, you know?

It’s been an extremely busy week at BroBible. My team just launched our partnership with Dockers®, which I’m really excited about. It’s the first we’ve worked with them in about six years! Shameless plug, but truly the most iconic pants out there.

Are you enjoying this newsletter?

I'll be straight up with you: I'm trying to decide if this newsletter is worth continuing. I love doing it, but if no one reads it or gets anything out of, I'll just bugger off and find a better use of my time. Check which ones applies to you:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

If you think it’s worth it, I’d love to hear from you. Unlike blogging, there’s not really a great feedback loop in the newsletter game. When you write a post on the site, you know something is working because it will get distribution and, well, people will read it. When you write a newsletter, it goes out to the digital ether and you have no idea how it’s being received.

My goal with 11 Things You Missed On The Internet is create a way to casually shoot the shit about the behind-the-scenes at BroBible or tell you about some of the cool stuff we have going on. Informal, like meeting a friend for lunch. But also… The Internet has also changed so much in the last couple years. I’m curious if anyone really cares about this format or if I should just make TikToks and Instagram Reels and YouTube videos all day or something like that? The stuff that seems to really get people’s attention, as cringe as it can be. I have no shortage of projects I’d like to take on, all of which take time and creative bandwidth.

So… I don’t know! Questions? Comments? Feedback? Something you’d like to see? Hit me up: [email protected].

Thanks for reading. Have a great weekend.

El Chapo’s Granddaughter Frida Guzman Goes On Hunt For The Loch Ness Monster

Honestly, props to her. Way cooler way to spend your time on this planet than being an influencer and going to endless brunches.

16-Foot Burmese Python Captured In Florida Sheds Light On Importance Of Capturing The Most Massive Snakes

Imagine this reptilian beast chilling in your above-ground pool.

Win A Pre-Owned TAG Heuer Autavia Calibre 5 Watch Valued At $2,700

Thanks to everyone who signed up so far! You can enter here, no purchase necessary, or at the link below. See the official rules here.

Post Malone And Eddie Vedder Jamming To Tom Petty And Pearl Jam Songs Is The Good Stuff

This is the perfect jam to set the vibe for the weekend.

Skater Rune Glifberg Talks About The Fat Stacks He Made Off ‘Tony Hawk Pro Skater’ Royalties

This is the American Dream. Making a ton of mailbox money as a secondary playable character in an iconic video game franchise without having the stress of being the main character? That rocks.

At $55,000 the 2024 Toyota Land Cruiser Is a Total Bargain

NGL, I really want a Lan Cruiser. I’ve been obsessed at pricing out some of the old ones from the 1970s and 80s. There’s a guy in my neighborhood here in Los Angeles with a beautifully restored one. Do I have $55k to spend on the base model of a car? Hell no. But one can dream…

Quentin Tarantino’s Final Movie, Which Already Stars Brad Pitt, Is Circling Another Iconic Movie Star

Like all of y'all, I love Quentin Tarantinos work. Went to go see Once Upon A Time in Hollywood on opening night. Thought it was epic.

One thing that bothers me about this project is that Tarantino keeps calling it his “final movie.” Lame. I resent when artists give ultimatums about their work. Like how many "Farewell” tours have The Eagles done to make a buck when Don Henley decided he wanted a new beach house? Or Dead & Company saying last year’s summer tour was their final tour, only to announce 20+ dates at The Sphere in Las Vegas? When you love doing something and it’s a big part of who you are, why say it’s your last? You’re not an athlete that physically needs to hang it up to not get embarrassed by a younger generation.

I would be willing to bet that Tarantino still has a couple more projects in him after this one, especially if it’s really well received. But hell - what do I know? I’m just the BroBible guy, not the greatest auteur of our era.

Johnny Manziel Reveals The Amount Of Cocaine It Took Him To Lose 40 Pounds

Geesh. No wonder Johnny Ski Slopes couldn’t cut it in the NFL.

Kid Rock Tells Joe Rogan Why He Ended His Bud Light Boycott After Getting Hammered With CEO

Shocked to hear that the guy who gave a shout out to all his “heroes at the methadone clinics” is inconsistent with his outrage when there’s an opportunity to make a dollar.

Canelo Alvarez Being Offered $55 Million To Fight Boxer He Refuses To Fight

He has to do it now, right?

Sean Strickland Loses ‘Influencer’ Gig Due To Nearly Fighting Machine Gun Kelly, Goes On To Rip MGK To Shreds

Not going to lie, the things that come out of Sean Strickland’s mouth sound like the rantings and ravings of a meth head movie character.

Music Fridays

Added a couple new things to the 11 Things You Missed On The Internet Spotify playlist this week.

I've recently became obsessed with a song called “Expert In A Dying Field,” by The Beths, an indie band from New Zealand. This track, which is the final one on my playlist, caught my attention after I heard it on a podcast. It rocks so much.

I also added a funky Lou Reed song called “Charley’s Girl,” along with a mainstream honkytonk country jam by Clay Page called “Screen on a Backporch.”

I also can’t get enough of Widepread Panic’s new ballad, “We Walk Each Other Home.” Just a beautiful, tender song by John Bell and the gang that floods with emotion. I can’t wait for whatever album they’re getting ready to release. “For Dad” by a songwriter called Telander showed up on my Spotify recommendations and I loved it so much, I wanted to share it with everyone.

Finally: I was listening to Outkast’s 2003 Speakerboxx / The Love Below album the other night and thinking about how seminal that album was to me in high school. It’s just a magnificent piece of art from beginning to end. Besides all the pop favorites, like “The Way You Move” and “Hey-Ya”, there’s some wildly experimental moments that pushed boundaries and blurred genre lines back in th day. For example, they do a wonderful job playing homage to John Coltrane with a jazz-forward version of “My Favorite Things.” Thought it’d be fun to revisit this week.

Thanks again for reading, watching, and supporting. Follow me on Instagram, Twitter, and TikTok. Questions, comments or concerns? [email protected].

See you on Monday…. maybe?

Join the conversation

or to participate.